Sketchbook Yorkshire Dales

dales

Stone barns, Arkengarthdale, ink A4 sketchbook

I’m away for  week in the Yorkshire Dales with my husband David and a visiting friend from Canada, Christine. We’re having a great time soaking up the beautiful pastoral scenery of Swaledale, Wensleydale and all the hills and valleys in between. Even the weather has been kind.

 

 

dales3

Arkengathdale from above, A4 sketchbook, ink

I promised myself I would put aside some time to work on my Richard II assignment and I still hope (need!) to do this but in the meantime these are some quick sketchbook paintings of the local scenery using inks, watercolour and, here and there, Chinagraph pencil which is bit like using wax but more subtle (another discovery from the signwriting workshop with Wayne Tanswell).

dales2

A windy path in Arkengarthdale, A4 sketchbook

These have some of the atmosphere of the scenes… the gentle roll of the pastures, the patterns of the dry stone walls and the ancient stone barns that dot the landscape. I’d like at some stage to work one or two of these up into finished paintings to capture a record of our holiday and this inspirational place.

 

dales4

View from the Red Lion pub in Langthwaite, watercolour, ink A4 sketchbook

In the meantime, the lesson for me is keep it simple and don’t try to cram everything into one painting. The top two paintings look the most promising, I feel, because of their relative simplicity.

Leave a Reply

