Sketchbook Shakespeare (2) – Richard II

 

RichardII-2

RichardII-FionaShaw

 

 

“I give this heavy weight from off my head

 

 

 

RichardII-3

 

And this unwieldy sceptre from my hand

The pride of kingly sway from out my heart

 

 

 

 

RichardII-4With mine own tears I wash away  my balm

With mine own hands I give away my crown

With mine own tongue deny my sacred state.”

 

 

Pen and watercolour sketchbook paintings from a DVD of National Theatre 50 years on stage – excerpt from 1995 production of Richard II at the Cottosloe Theatre.  Richard played by Fiona Shaw. Fabulous performance!

Now which of these should I use for the exercise Creating mood and atmosphere?

Leave a Reply

