Assignment 4: Snowdon – prep for final painting

snowdon-test-final-low-res

Snowdon – test painting in acrylics, 19″ x 15″ – a bit muddy due to not allowing drying time for the layers

Although my end of the month deadline is looming even I realise it would be madness to try to create a 4 foot x 3 foot acrylic painting from a 4 inch by 3 inch  watercolour. So I painted the picture above to test out the composition and colour palette and it has proved to be an invaluable exercise.

snowdon-interim2

Earlier stage of testing painting

I feel the composition works. The colour has become a bit muddy in the distance due to overworking so I need to try to keep my colours pure and make a real effort to stop earlier. The black of the shadow on the peak may be ovehelming, I’m finding it hard to judge.  I don’t want to be timid and end up with a tepid painting so I’ll build up the black in less intense layers and judge it as I go .

 

At an earlier stage of this painting there were  some stripes if intense lime green and icy blue on the distant peak and I feel I should try to revive these. Essentially, I need to control the desire to keep fiddling and stop painting before I start going backwards.

Also see:

Assignment idea 3 – Snowdon

Snowdon – final painting

 

Leave a Reply

