Multicoloured pencil portraits

perry2

What colour are your eyes Grayson Perry? – multicoloured pencil, A4 sketchbook. From a photo by Richard Ansett

While I was doing Drawing 1, I kept having an urge to be painting and so it’s not  surprising that now when I’m supposed to be immersed in Painting 1, all I can think about is drawing! And as drawing is always a good thing I succumbed to the urge on Saturday and created a series of five A4 pencil portraits of artists in my sketchbook.

 

freud

Did I say something wrong Lucian Freud? From a photo by Jane Bown.

 

While at the Sainsburys Centre in Norwich I while ago I bought a couple of large multicolour pencils intending to give them to my nieces. When you draw with these, the colour keeps changing and you can’t predict what colour is going to come out next… I enjoy being slightly out of control and letting what happens happen so these pencils suit me and I have been quite entertained by the results which include  Grayson Perry with different coloured eyes and a rather manic looking Lucian Freud.

I’ll have to try  landscape next…

 

warhol

Andy Warhol – from a photo by Yousuf Karsh

rego

Paula Rego. From an unattributed photo.

kahlo

Frida Kahlo complete with monobrow. From an unattributed photo

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

