Ready made still life

tray-of-glasses-stilllife

Tray of glasses in cafe in Montefalco

While on holiday in Umbria with time to linger in cafes and wander around museums I found myself thinking about how ready made still life arrangements occasionally present themselves and that I should try to capture them  in my sketchbook or in photographs. I’ve struggled with still life partly because by the time I have found the right objects and arranged them with suitable light and shade and explored a few different arrangements my enthusiasm has started to wane. Looking for ready mades could present, for a me, another way of approaching this genre.  I’m recording here some still life scenes I spotted on holiday. And I will add to this collection in future and they may inspire my still life painting in future.

museum-5th-century-objects

5th Century BC object in the Palazzo Trinci musuem – nice reflections in the glass as well as pleasing objects

museu-glass

Arrangement of glass something or others! The info was all in Italian which I couldn’t decipher

museum-pots

Arrangement of ancient pottery

musuem-pots-3

Beautiful pots – I like all the lines and reflections in the display cabinet too.

votive-figures-still-life

Votive figures – the perspex cubes, shadows and the reflections in the glass all contribute. I like this a lot.

votive-figures-still-life2

Votive figures 2 The figures are tiny. The upright display brings them to life and seems to make them dance.

Leave a Reply

