Exercise: Broken or tertiary colours

tertiariesAgain this was a useful exercise. I now feel as if I’ve been painting with an unnecessarily restricted palette because I haven’t been mixing enough or using white to good effect.

I love the earthy nature of the tertiary colours (going back to decorating they are very Farrow and Ball!) Again another good reference for my sketchbook and a reminder that you don’t need dozens of tubes of paint .. it’s amazing what you can mix from the primaries plus black and white.

Leave a Reply

