Apples, Pears and Paint – How to make a still life painting

still-life-bbcThis excellent BBC production is on I-Player for just another five days and I’m glad I found the time to watch it. It’s an overview of the history of still life from the Xenia art of Pompei to today’s multimedia re-interpretations of the genre. The 90 minute programme charts the highs and lows of still life in history and gives some insight into how art reflects our relationship with the material world around us.

I know there’s a research point coming up on the Dutch still life painters of the 17th Century so if I can still read them, my copious notes will come into their own!

I-Player link : http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03ny8wk

 

Leave a Reply

