Assignment Four – line and shape (another go)

felicity-final-charcoal

Felicity (A2) charcoal (final line and shape assignment)

felicity-final-charcoal-adjusted

Adjusted for assessment to give more weight to elbow on table and help the figure to stand out from the busy marks by adding a subtle background colour.

 

 

Having explored different drawing techniques including ink and bamboo dipping pen and quill pen, I decided to draw Felicity in charcoal, with the aid of a putty rubber to soften and break up the lines and give some texture.

I still feel this is quite a controlled drawing and it is not  as fluid and free as it might be. The pose itself is rather and defiantly upright and no matter which techniques I tried (and I tried many), I still could not bring a looseness to this picture. Unfortunately I did not have the opportunity to get my niece Felicity to  pose for me again so I had to work from a photo).

My exploratory drawing below was a little more free and the textural marks from the charcoal and putty rubber made more impact. I felt I had to moderate these a little when applying to the whole figure in order to avoid going over the top.

While there are faults, this is a considerably more characterful drawing than my initial picture for this assignment so I’m pleased to have given it another go. I realised that my earlier drawing was ‘out’ in some crucial places;  the relationship of the shoulder to the chin was’t quite right and the hands and feet were a little small. I’ve attempted to rectify these issues.

This has been a good learning experience and I’ve particularly enjoyed experimenting with charcoal which I now feel much more comfortable with and enthusiastic about. There are lessons for me to in terms of setting up a model, maybe a little more slouch next time.

 

Exploratory work 

charcoal-head-square

Felicity – new explorations

In his tutor feedback Jim Unsworth suggested  I should have another go at the line and shape assignment because my first attempt was weak. I wholeheartedly agree. I had some misgivings when I submitted it.

I decided to start by exploring different ways to draw Felicity in order to create a picture that is more alive and fluid, having “designed all the life from” the original piece.

These are my initial drawings…  I decided to work with Felicity in the same seated pose, rather than start again with a different pose so that I could find out what I could achieve with some alternative techniques.

Charcoal

charcoal-explore

A3 charcoal drawing. While the lines are reasonably fluid, this did not feel complete. I like the way the figure is not sitting too rigidly upright, it looks more natural than some of my exploratory drawings below.

charcoal-putty-a3-another

I decided to break up the lines and try to give some variety of weight s by  quickly drawing criss cross strokes across the image . I then broke these up with a putty rubber. I put back a little detail after but kept this fairly minimal. I feel this has created more visual interest; it feels better, more of the moment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

charcoal-head-square

Crop of image above. As a head and shoulder charcoal portrait, I feel this works. – but that is not the brief. Interesting to explore though.

charcoal-head

Alternative crop with the cigarette.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

felicity-charcoal-background_edited-1

A2 charcoal. Although I couldn’t see it when drawing, now I cans see that the head is too upright and should be leaning forward a little.

 

felicity-charcoal-background-distorted

For the fun of it A3 charcoal picture of Felicity (see left) photographed at a low angle making legs big and head small. I quite like the impact of this and it hides the defects in my drawing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ink

ink-water-

A3 ink – paper dampened with water before drawing with bamboo dipping pin, using both the nib and the side of the pen. This has created a good variety of marks, so it is an interesting experiment if not a drawing of great beauty!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ink-water-a2

A3 ink – drawn with bamboo dipping pen. A fine spray of water added later to diffuse the lines a little. Excess water encouraged to dribble across the image. Interesting effect… light and shade, smoke?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

