Tutor Report on Part 3

I’ve now had my report from my tutor Simon Manfield and I’m really happy to read that he felt my experiments with ink and bleach for the assignment piece worked well and were appropriate… I had been a bit worried! Overall I find the feedback rewarding and motivational and I appreciate the helpful pointers and suggestions.

I’ve pulled out from the key points for me to look out and ideas for further research in the notes below.

This is a link to a PDF of the full report SaraWaterer_511909_3-tutor-report.

Points to keep in mind / research further

  • Keep experimenting.
  • Continue learning and gaining inspiration from other artists’ work at every opportunity.
  • Try not to lose concentration.
  • Take a look again at the fundamental rules of perspective as I although I have reasonable grasp of these there are aspects that need attention to make my drawings work as a whole. Recommended reading: Cole, Rex Vicat, (1976) Perspective for Artists, Dover Publications, Inc. New York. ISBN: 0486224872
  • Recommendation for an artist to research:

“The American abstract expressionist artist Jon Schueler (1916-1992) experimented with both representational and abstracted imagery and used these two schemes of work collectively to create some beautiful and subtle pieces. In the late 1950s Schueler was based at the Sound of Sleat near Skye in Scotland. I thought you may find his work interesting, especially with regards his depictions in watercolour of clouds in a landscape.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

