Exercise: Stipples and dots

gourd

I chose a white and green gourd given to me by our local farm shop for this exercise and used a drawing pen. It was lovely to draw although the natural patterns on the skin of the gourd conflicted with the shadows and I had to find a way to differentiate these. I used stippling for the shaded area on the gourd itself, cross hatching for the cast shadow and parallel lines for the stalk.  I may have been too subtle with the stippling…

I’m not unhappy with the outcome. I’m trying to recall but I don’t think I’ve ever drawn a complete object, with shade and tone, using just a pen before.

Leave a Reply

