Detailed observation: Check and log

Check and log

Which drawing media did you find most effective to use for which effects?

I thought the drawing pen worked well for the stipples and dots exercise because of the sharpness of the marks and the ability to capture fine detail.  For the exercise Getting tone and depth, I found that the graphite pencil gave me the depth of tone I needed to illustrate the grooves and shadows in the splintered piece of wood. My line drawing of the cabbage leaf was a little faint with the drawing pen and might have worked better with a thicker marker pen or possibly ink.

What sort of marks work well to create tone, pattern and texture?

I’m using dots and dashes as well as hatching and cross hatching with much more confidence now and these are incredibly useful for tone, pattern and texture. I also find scribbled marks quite effective but didn’t use them in these exercises as they didn’t seem appropriate. Sometimes the character of the object itself seems to  dictate which marks will work best – e.g. very controlled such as parallel lines or more free  scribbled marks.

Did you enjoy capturing details or are you more at home creating big broad brush sketches?

I always used to think of myself as a big broad brush sketch type of person. Now I’m not so sure as I’m enjoying the more detailed work immensely and beginning to get better results. I think perhaps I was scared of tackling detail before. If I can develop to the point that I can choose which direction I wish to take in the future, that will be a good place to be.

Look at the composition of the drawings you’ve done in this project. Make some sketches and notes about how you could improve the composition.

I opted for very simple compositions of single objects for this project. I experimented with the direction of light and shadow, and also considered different viewing angles such as viewing from above or below. While I’m not saying that they couldn’t be improved because everything can, I am reasonably happy with the outcomes because I’ve learnt to do more looking and thinking (and sometimes even preparatory sketches!) before diving in.

Leave a Reply

