Reflecting on Assignment One

Did you do enough preliminary work before starting on your pieces?

For the boots I could have done more work on alternative compositions. In reality I think I knew  what I was going to do before I started but more exploration might have led me to an unexpected result. I could have experimented more with an additional item in the composition, such as a dog lead or a compass.

For the vegetables, I should  have explored what medium to use for the shadow. I could possibly also have experimented with different mediums. I’m very quick to grab my ink pots and I must not  let  using the familiar prevent me from making new discoveries.

Do your large drawings give an accurate interpretation of the still life groups? If not what went wrong?

Vegetables: on the whole, yes, although they are a bit plastic looking in a way. More texture might have helped – pitted surface of the courgette, frayed stalk of the onions, etc. Including less in my composition would have enabled me to include more detailed texture.

Boots:  I found the left boot incredibly difficult to draw. Even after drawing this boot multiple times I could not get the uplift at the end of the toe. In fact, the more I tried the more difficult it became.

Do your drawings fit well on the paper or could they be improved by working on a larger sheet of paper?

I used A2 and I think both drawings  fit quite well and suit the size. The prep work helped me to figure out how to use the paper well and get a balanced composition.

Did you have problems with drawing or find hatching too difficult?

At this stage in the course I am very slow at drawing so all the exercises seem to take me an endless amount of time. I know that practice is the solution to that. My drawing skills aren’t top notch but they are considerably better than when I started this course and I feel confident I will continue to improve. For the boots, achieving consistency in the drawing technique across the whole picture was a challenge… I think I’ve scribbled more than hatched but that did seem to suit the rugged character of the boots. It wouldn’t suit everything though.

Leave a Reply

