Exercise: Shadows and reflected light and shade

reflectionsFor this drawing I used charcoal, putty rubber and A1 paper. I worked using natural light from windows on either side.

The light and shadow patterns were incredibly complex and I can’t say I’ve captured them all but I’m happy that the objects  look like the shiny stainless steel they are made from. The oil drizzler is reflected in the saucepan and handle of the drizzler is reflected on its body.

I enjoyed using the charcoal with the large size paper.

I’m irritated that the outline of the saucepan is poorly drawn – I was too eager to get on with drawing the light patterns but a few moments of greater attention would have improved the picture considerably!

Leave a Reply

