Exercise: Doodling

doodling for OCAThis is my second doodle. The first was more of a drawing than a doodle because I was too focused. I abandoned it and came back to the project a few days later in a more relaxed frame of mind.

Some shapes reminded me of cherries, which led to trees. Then I found myself thinking about a wind-swept tree I’d noticed at the weekend. This took my doodling mind to mountains and hills and white horses on hillsides. Then in crept a parrot tulip with wonderful jagged edges that I’d noticed in a friends’ garden.

I can see the value in doodling as a way of stirring the imagination and letting some subconscious impressions out –  a sort of visual stream of consciousness.

I don’t want to stop doodling! I must do it more often.

 

Leave a Reply

